Ferris Bueller, Kobe Bryant and Frank Yang on Meditation

     

       My sister got married this past weekend and it was an amazing celebration for  two of the people who are in my top 20 list of couples I love the most. In case you were wondering Kim and Kanye are number one with Morgan Freeman and his step granddaughter close on their heels at number two.

      Weddings are an amazing time to reflect on the life of another person, where they have come from, what they mean to others close to them, and who they have become. This type of reflection is very important in our lives as it allows us to take stock of who we have become and where we are headed. 

     I was talking with my brother James and my sisters friend Anton when he brought up the classic book ‘7 Habits of Highly Effective People’ and one part of the book particularly became the topic of conversation. Reflection. We talked about how important it is in our lives to stop and take some time in silence to reflect on what our actions and attitudes have reaped in the past.

      Anton met Laura on the World Race, which is a mission trip that takes its participants to 11 different countries over 11 months. At the end of every month there is a time for reflection and a time to plan for the next month. This allowed the participants to concretely take stock of what they had accomplished over the previous 30 some odd days. It allowed them to see where they faltered, what habits filled their daily routines and how their behaviour affected those around them.

      I instantly recognized the value in this. Reflection should be something that we are all partaking in on a regular basis.

      But how can we do this? What is a concrete way to make reflection a beneficial part of our lives? I’m going to give you one easy way to make reflection a part of your daily and monthly routine.

Meditate Daily

ferris     

If you can, it is best to meditate in a 1961 Ferrari 250 GT California

     Ferris Bueller encapsulates everything that I want to share with you about meditation in one sentence. when he said, “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.”

      I am by no means an expert on meditation and have only been doing it for a short period of time, but it has definitely been beneficial for me in many ways. Frank Yang said that for him meditation is a sort of ‘mental lubrication’ and I completely agree. It gives me the chance to clear my head and silence the obnoxious judgemental voices that some of carry around with us all the time. I have only been meditating for 10-15 minutes at a time so far. This seems like a very short period of time, but it’s hard for me to sit still for even 5 minutes without checking to see if I have any new text messages. So I will count this as a victory.

      I don’t follow any particular protocols or mantras. I simply sit in a quiet and darkened room in silence.

      For those of you who aren’t into meditation or think that it is useless here’s what Kobe Bryant has to say on the topic. And we all know that Kobe would never lie.

“Michael Jackson tried to get me to meditate. He could sit in meditation for seven hours. But I couldn’t sit still for 20 minutes. It’s crazy to me that meditation is viewed as hokey. Just look at the people who’ve done phenomenal things. Do they meditate? Absolutely.”

     

If this happens when you meditate you should probably stop.

     A moment of reflection and introspection every day is a great way to focus on what matters the most to you. It is a way to see into the chaos of life and find out what you truly value. It is essential if you have any type of goal that you are chasing, or if you want to mould yourself into a better version of yourself.

      I would challenge you to meditate for 10-15 minutes everyday for a month to see what types of changes you notice in yourself mental, physical or spiritual. And if you think that meditating is garbage and a waste of time, well that’s cool as well. 

Leave a Reply

